Mahmudullah replaces Nasir in SA Test squad

Sports Correspondent | Update:

Mahmudullah Riyad

Bangladesh batsman Mahmudullah has been recalled in the 15-strong Test squad for South Africa series.

Mahmudullah replaced Nasir Hossain after Bangladesh on Monday reshuffled the squad for the two-match Test series scheduled to begin on 28 September.

Mahmudullah was ruled out of the Test team in the just concluded Australia tour of Bangladesh apparently for his poor performance in the Sri Lankan Tests this year.

Pacer Rubel Hossain, who played his last Test during New Zealand visit in January this year, will also fly with the team.

Bangladesh have also included Subashis Roy and Shafiul Islam in the squad.

Mominul Haque, wicketkeeper-batsman Liton Das, Sabbir Rahman and Soumya Sarkar have survived the reshuffle once again.

Mustafizur Rahman, who is adorably called ‘The Fizz’, and pacer Taskin Ahmed will lead the Tigers’ pace squad.

Mushfiqur Rahim will captain the team and spinner Taijul Islam and Mehidy Hasan Miraz direct the spin squad.

Test Squad
Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Liton Das, Mahmudullah, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mominul Haque, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Shafiul Islam, Soumya Sarkar, Subashis Roy, Taijul Islam, and Taskin Ahmed.

Editor & publisher: Matiur Rahman.
CA Bhaban, 100 Kazi Nazrul Islam avenue, Karwan Bazar, Dhaka 1215
Phone: 8180078-81, Fax: 9130496, E-mail: